Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony postponed

The induction ceremony for the 2020 class of the Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame has been postponed.

Originally scheduled for June 20 at the Best Western Plus Inn & Convention Centre, a new tentative date of Sept. 12 has now been set. Tickets are not yet on sale, but more information will be released about how to purchase them when the event date is confirmed.

In March, the new inductees were announced: Gord Brooks, Neil Cane, Dr. Rev. Kevin Fast, Margaret Anne Matthews, Dan Milligan, Fred Simpson, Ken Petrie and Clarke Sommerville.

The Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame encompasses the Town of Cobourg, Townships of Alnwick-Haldimand, Cramahe, Hamilton and Alderville First Nation.

Since March 2017, a dedicated group of volunteers have been collecting and cataloguing sports memorabilia and historical information. The goal is to preserve and share the rich legacy of sport to be found in our communities. The Cobourg and District Sports Hall of Fame has been fortunate to be generously supported through donations of cash, materials and services by local businesses, community groups and individuals.

Display cases of memorabilia can be found at the Cobourg Community Centre, located at 750 D’Arcy Street in Cobourg.

The inaugural class of inductees in 2019 included Layton Dodge, Paul Currelly, Fred Dufton, Don Ito, Marty Kernaghan, Bill O’Neil, Frank Mazza and Steve Smith.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Jeff Gard